PDA

View Full Version : Harry Potter - Half-Blood Prince Movie Costume

SunSurfAndAnime
07-25-2007, 03:15 AM
So I'm already beginning to flesh out some ideas for a costume for the 6th movie premiere.

Right now I'm running with the idea of either a punk ravenclaw student or punk auror (a la SnJ Tonks, sorta).

If I go for the first - I was hoping for some ideas of how to maintain the "Hogwarts student uniform" look while making it very unique and definitely punk.

One thing I'm considering is either finding a suitable long-coat that comes in at the waist or possibly going through the trouble of modifying one of the mass-produced robes (e.x. link (http://alivans.com/files/robe_600.jpg)) so that it had an actual collar and closer cut. The latter would be much harder since I have zero experience with sowing (though I pick up most things pretty quickly).

I'm most definitely making my hair or a wig very interesting.

The biggest suggestions I could use are on how to possibly punkout the sweater, scarf and tie without going overboard.

The way I figure it is that hogwarts is a school and students are coming from everywhere - they all obviously have different personalities but the books and movies don't show the subtle (and often not so subtle) difference that students end up expressing even when made to wear uniforms.

So, its either that or one of the characters at the moment :P

Michi
07-25-2007, 03:30 AM
I'm sorry that I have little else to contribute aside from this comment, but I have to ask:

Why do you call it "SnJ"? Why can't you just say, perhaps, "a male version"? Harry Potter is not Naruto. People did genderswap/alt gender inspired cosplay long before Naruto. I just don't get it.

Anyway, I see nothing wrong with your ideas. I think it'd be obviously punk enough with some accessories and your hair; no need to alter the uniform much.

SunSurfAndAnime
07-25-2007, 03:39 AM