PDA

View Full Version : unrealistically long feathers [Balmung from .hack]

Kirara_Power
03-03-2008, 09:44 AM
I'm trying to get my supplies for my Balmung (.hack) costume together, but I'm coming up empty on what to do for his cape/wings.

Here's a picture of him. (http://www.rpgfan.com/pics/hack/art-05-balmung.jpg)

As you can see, the feather things on his cape are REALLY long and flowy. Is there any way I can, like, glue turkey feathers or something together to make them longer? I can trim them to taper off at the ends... I really don't want to spend all that extra money to buy feathers that are that long to start with. TT.TT

Any help is loved!

AlikNyankoChan
03-03-2008, 10:20 AM
You can glue turkey feathers on top of one another to make them look longer. I'm not experienced with how to do this, but from how I understand you just layer them end to end until they're as long as you like(kind of like window blinds). But they'll come out very curved....and really, really rigid, not at all flowy. Feathers are sharp & rigid to begin with, & when you make them bigger & longer it just gets worse.

angelicstar.net has a few costumes that exhibit this effect, particularly the "midnight wings" costume.

From the picture you provided, it might be better to make the feathers out of serged-edge(or finished in some other way) strips of cloth, & lightly paint on some feather details. The rigid, curved feather look just wouldn't work on a cape(again, needs to be flowy ^^).

~Alik

Fire Lily
03-03-2008, 11:33 AM
You could try white ostrich feathers - they are very long and flowy. Or if you want to pay a little more and if you can find some, bleached pheasant tail feathers.

Or you can go the Jareth route from Labyrinth in his final costume. Strips of white gauzy cloth mixed in with feathers to get a fluffy, flowy cape. Pics are hard to find, but you can see it at the ending scene of the movie.

AlikNyankoChan
03-03-2008, 12:28 PM