PDA

View Full Version : Some questions about the "Parting for Ponytails" tutorial

luminae
06-24-2008, 01:52 PM
I have to admit I'm pretty new to cosplaying. Nonetheless, I've had a lot of arts-and-crafts in my choice of education so I'm willing to tackle the pigtails on Maka's wig (reference (http://i286.photobucket.com/albums/ll102/killjoy_cosplay/Maka/maka-2.jpg)) from Soul Eater. ^_^;; I have a Dory in 613, which I will cut some length off for wefts, and a pack of extensions. I didn't want to get the miracle Innocent wig because it's fairly thick and Maka's hair is super straight and thin.

I just have a few questions about Katie Bair's parting tutorial (http://www.pettingzoowigs.com/wigtutorial_parting.html) before I potentially kill my wig:

1.) In the pictures for step 7 and 8, the "mohawk" of hair looks pretty long. Do I really have to pull it through that much, or is that for instructional purposes? The directions say 1 inch. As less as possible makes the most sense to me. I want to conserve length because I want to cut the 48" extensions in half and have twice as much material. 22" seems like such a waste if I'm just going to trim it off for the stub o_o
2.) Searching for "pigtails" in the forum gives me a lot of SOS threads like mine. I read in one of them that a glue gun could be used in place of a heat sealer. Is this true? That would be convenient, since I already have one.
3.) At the bottom, it says "While the extensions shouldn't fall out under normal wear, and will easily be able to withstand the stress of being pulled into ponytails, combing or brushing them while they're still loose has a very good chance of yanking bits out." I've also heard that ponytails should be pulled up little by little and neatly combed in between. I'm leaning toward the latter advice. D= Shouldn't a wide-toothed comb be fine?

Cora
06-24-2008, 06:28 PM