PDA

View Full Version : Matt's (Death note) pants?

petitangel1095
08-04-2008, 11:20 PM
So I told my friend that I would make her pants for her Matt cosplay for Otakon, but the thing is, I have no idea how to do it.
.___.;
I was thinking I could just cut up the pants then sew them back together for that effect, and maybe fray the edges of the cut up parts before sewing them back together.

Ideas/suggestions?
(Sorry if this is in the wrong forum, I'm fairly new to this stuff. .__.; )

-Sorry about the lack of referance pictures, his pants are like, rarely in any pictures I can find..

kenshin-chan64
08-05-2008, 12:43 AM
woot! someone that wants to do the pleets!

well, i couldnt find the exact page number in the manga that shows him (if you want to search yourself, go to onemanga.com), but here is a picture someone drew based off of the very picture i was looking for (http://silentreaper.deviantart.com/art/Death-Note-Matt-Anim-Artwork-46222914). as you can see, they arent a frayed edge look that you might be thinking about.

what i did for my pants, was choose a width for inbetween the pleets ant measure and cut (i did 4.5"). make sure to keep track of the 'top' and 'bottom' of your cut pieces.

the next will be sooo much easier if your sewing machine has a small base or something. you take the bottom of the very top part (the bottom cut that is now the bottom of the now pants), you fold it over a little, like you are making a hem, and sew it onto the 'top' of the next piece (if you want to make it easy, sew the hem shape first, then follow the sew line when puting it on the next piece).

keep doing the same thing till you reach the last piece and are done! (you might need to buy some extra jean material from a fabric store if they come up short like i did and the pants dont quite tuck into your boots).