PDA

View Full Version : Rogue (X-Men) Suit help

Tonksie
10-27-2008, 06:48 PM
Hello!

I'm going to start working on a Rogue (from x-men) cosplay. I want to do her green/white outfit (ref. pic included), but I'm trying to figure out what material to make it from. I want to avoid spandex if possible for something a bit thicker (so that it isn't like "look ma, cellulite!") and less cheap/shiny looking, but it obviously still has to be tight and stretchy. I'm also likely going to make the cloak from the same material, so not something that's just gonna hang down all blah.

I'm still really really new at cosplay and this is the first I'll be sewing myself, eek!
What kind of pattern would I want to use for this? I have one for the cloak and pants that I can use, but for the top, would I just use a normal long sleeved shirt pattern and then make it small? I'm particularly worried about how to get the shoulders and armpit area all tight like that with a normal pattern.

Thanks!

glass_ayla
10-30-2008, 05:34 PM
I'm going to give you the advise that I give every superhero costumer....

I love spanedman.com. He does great stuff and for about 100 bucks you can get EXACTLY what you want (cape will prob be extra). They do a professional job and you will look great. Just send him a photo of what you want, they have a quick turnaround time even for custom stuff.

Sewing spandex is a challenge if you don't have an overlock machiene. You may want to try sewing a cotton pair of pants first if you have never sewn before.

In addition, I recommend wearing a body smoother under your superhero costume- it will drop you a size and hide anything that jiggles. They make a Body suit that is full, and one that comes up to just under your bra strap. Remember anything (like a corset) with bumps will show through your spandex.

You can always to to League of Heros message board- they all do superhero costumes and have some great tips on how to look finished.

SgtScoops
09-30-2010, 12:07 AM