PDA

View Full Version : Soul Calibur II Cosplay

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

nocturnalkitten
07-24-2003, 02:38 AM
Ok, I'm a cosplay newbie and was thinking of cosplaying a character from Soul Calibur II(Talim or Xianghua). My bf told me that was silly because people probably wouldn't recognize the character and that I'd be better of with a character from King of Fighters or Streetfighter. Do people cosplay Soul Calibur characters at cons? I'd appreciate any opinions before I get my heart set on a specific video game character. Thanks!

~T :juggler:

Cole
07-24-2003, 02:56 AM
My sister will be cosplaying as Seung Mina very soon at CNA '03. But it shouldn't matter if poeple recognize you right away or not. As long as youhave fun and look cool :D

DeathCom
07-24-2003, 05:01 AM
Popularity isnt the most important reason to pick a character. That said...

Soul Calibur is often cosplayed at conventions, and with good reason. Of all the 3D fighters, its got some of the most creative characters seen (anywhere even). At just this past Anime Expo there was a horde of SC costumers (see the pics in Eurobeat King's AX gallery on this site). Hopefully at Otakon, there will be another group. Just about everyone who plays fighters knows about Soul Calibur. However, I will say that Xianghua is more recognizable than Talim is, only because she's been in the last game too.

Anyway, to see some of the SC costumes Ive seen personally on the east coast, take a look at my site's (http://members.aol.com/deathcom5/) front page.

-DeathCom

Daala
07-24-2003, 10:48 AM
Do it! Do it!! Talim & Xianghua are both good SC picks.

My cousin did cervantes (check my gallery) a charater no one would cosplay, and he love it. Ppl knew who he was at the con, and I've seen loads of Xianghua's arounds.

I'm going as Seung Mina(sc2) & Mitsurugi (sc1) this year for Otakon, and if no one know who I am...It's fine but I will have loads of fun doing it.

Farmboybob
07-24-2003, 12:13 PM