PDA

View Full Version : Alucard Hellsing jacket help

blackcat523
02-01-2009, 05:53 PM
Ok, I've run into an issue. I'm making the red trench coat he wears.

jacket pic (http://membres.lycos.fr/unrealfada/hh/alucard01.JPG)

I've been searching all over for good reference pictures of the back of the jacket, and this is what I can find but it doesn't help me. I can see the flares that come off his shoulders, but does it carry around to a separate piece to his back (as a back flap) or are the ruffles only on the shoulders?

I'm making the jacket for a cosplay and I want it to be accurate, but with so many limited photos of his backside, it's hard to tell. I've seen some cosplayers do the back flap, some don't. Which is right?

This is my first time making a trench coat. I've ripped apart a trench that has the same general look of the trench he wears, except for the shoulder ruffles. So I'm in the process of mocking them up to make them look right. Any suggestions on a general shape would be great.

NinjasDontFear
02-01-2009, 10:50 PM
Seems to only be on the shoulders. I would make it like a ruffled skirt, almost-pleated-like shape. Over-lap it and sew it at the top, on the shoulders, almost like pleats, but only a few centimeters so it still looks ruffly at the bottom.
I'm not to sure on the shape, but maybe like a rounded end for the bottom ruffled part.

Hope I helped some, the best way to figure something out it to keep trying until you get it right.
:]

Christycard
02-05-2009, 01:08 AM
For mine, I did have a cape flap on the back, but it wasn't connected to the flaps on the shoulders. They were three separate flaps. And were kind of hard to sew together!

http://www.cosplay.com/photo/1026959/

The reference pic we used was a shot from the first OVA, which for some reason isn't on my computer anymore...

blackcat523
02-05-2009, 07:37 PM