PDA

View Full Version : Making a suit

Freyarule
05-27-2009, 04:07 PM
Hey y'all.

I'm relatively new to cosplaying, done a couple of costumes.

Has anyone ever made a suit before? As in business suit. My mum keeps saying I won't be able to do it, but I've had experience with patterns before and I'm determined to make it work. I've found a pattern and material, now I just need the advice.

Is it really as complex as it seems? What can I say to change my mum's mind?

Any response to this is more than gratefully accepted!

(This is for my Phoenix Wright cosplay, btw ^^)

TR Rose
05-27-2009, 04:27 PM
Yes, making a suit is possible.
No, it is not the least bit easy.

I made a Phoenix Wright suit and used a pattern by Burda - the standard 3 pattern companies (Simplicity, McCalls, and Butterick) don't make a men's suit pattern. It was really difficult and I completely ruined the first version of the jacket (while the diagram showed a closed jacket, the finished pictures on the envelope showed the jacket open - and the measurements were for the open jacket and thereby completely too small when I tried to make it close).

If at all possible, you should try to find a suit already made. Try your local Goodwill, thrift store, charity shop, etc. Thankfully it's a fairly normal-looking blue suit so you have a better chance of finding it (as opposed to many of the other characters in the series).

Sorry if this isn't the answer you're looking for, but it was my personal experience. I never want to make another men's suit ever again!

Freyarule
05-27-2009, 04:43 PM
yikes - thanks for replying!

My only concern with buying a suit is that I'm hoping to be in a skit with some other in the masquerade. They have tight rules that costumes can't be majorly shop-bought, so I'm just worried that I'd not be allowed to enter if I have a shop made suit.

Thanks for the advice though, gives me a good idea on what I'm getting into!

The Hag
05-27-2009, 04:47 PM