PDA

View Full Version : Need Major Wig Help!!

Demri
08-14-2003, 08:27 PM
Heyas! I just bought an auburn wig today for cosplaying Shion Uzuki from Xenosaga. It's the right length, just a little too red (it needs to be brown-er) and it also needs to flatten a bit. Does anyone have any suggestions as to how I can add a little bit more brown to the wig and/or how I can straighten it a little? I've never used a wig before, so I am completely clueless. Thankees!!

Koumori
08-14-2003, 08:29 PM
There are a few threads on this already.. try this one for the popular marker coloring method pioneered by Katie Bair... http://forums.cosplay.com/showthread.php?threadid=14805

and here's her tutorial on her straightening method: http://www.katiebair.com/wigtutorial_straightening.html

Demri
08-14-2003, 08:42 PM
Thanks, Kourmori! Guess I didn't scroll down enough...

Demri
08-15-2003, 02:38 PM
After being advised markering may not be the best way to go, I was wondering if anyone knows if you can actually use like henna dye or any other types of hair dye on a wig??

Gren
08-15-2003, 03:19 PM
Most dyes are meant to be used on natural fibers, and won't work on synthetic wigs. What changed your mind on markering?

betani
08-15-2003, 03:51 PM
henna may work (esp. if you want to make it darker) - hair dye may not be the best way to go though. i used tye dye dye and that worked pretty well (sorry, i don't have any pics to show you). but it stayed on (doesn't run) and covered pretty well. the wig looks pretty natural, which is amazing since it's a light green, but it has that "my hair just happened to grow this way" feel.

Koumori
08-15-2003, 05:43 PM
The problem is that wigs are not hair. Hair dye is meant to work with the porosity and the oils in protein-based hair, not with plastic fibers. Henna does stain most things, so you might be able to get it to hold a little bit of color on a wig. Anything else will be at best a crapshoot.

Demri
08-15-2003, 06:12 PM