PDA

View Full Version : Mirror's Edge cosplay help

dp-man
02-06-2010, 06:57 PM
Hi guys and gals,

I am new to cosplay and I need help to create a decent costume ;)
I want to cosplay as a police officer from the video game Mirror's Edge.

I can't find any informations on how to make a proper costume and I don't have an idea where to get the colthes for example. The only cosplay shops I know sell anime stuff.

Can you guys/gals help me?
attached picture shows said police officer.

greetings

SvK
02-06-2010, 08:26 PM
Phew, I was afraid you wanted to be one of the armored goons (http://on-mirrors-edge.com/incgalleryview.php?file=30.jpg) from Pirandello/Kruger. That costume would be much more difficult.

You have chosen a minor character from a game that isn't cosplayed often, so you won't be able to buy the exact outfit.

Can you sew at all? This outfit could be based on normal clothes and modified a bit. Break the outfit down into its parts. Black shoes. Blue pants. Blue short-sleeved shirt. White long-sleeved shirt. White gloves. You can buy these at a normal clothing store. Sew a strip of white cloth up the legs of the pants. I'd recommend making the POLICE sign and the patches on the sleeves out of craft foam. It may also be called "fun foam" or "foamies" and can be found in a craft store like JoAnn or Michael's. Cut the letters out of a piece of white craft foam then glue them on a rectangle of black craft foam, then attach that to the t-shirt. I think the patches are supposed to be embroidered, but that's much more difficult.

What accessories does he carry? He has a belt that holds handcuffs, a baton, a radio, and a holster for a pistol. Sunglasses. Badge. Wristwatch. mic/speaker with a wire running down to the radio on his belt. Most of that can be bought at a costume shop or even a toy store. The radio bit on his shoulder is uncommon, but you can fake that with any small box painted white. You could draw on a speaker with Sharpie marker is you like.

dp-man