PDA

View Full Version : Losing Weight Before a Con: Emergency Tips

Jinglebrarian
05-25-2010, 11:23 PM
Hi guys!

There have been several threads discussing losing weight in cosplay, cosplay as a motivator for losing weight, cosfluff, and how annoying being heavier (or lighter!) than we want to be is in regards to our favorite hobby. This thread is not like the others; it's going to be a tip database. I am not a doctor, and tips here are meant to be taken in moderation and with consideration; they work like a charm, but don't push yourself excessively just to lose a bit before a con, okay? I'd rather you know how to do it safely than starve yourself. This was going to be written for a friend, but I thought I would share it with you guys, too!

It's a collection of tips regarding APPEARING SLIMMER (not losing weight, but giving the illusion thereof) and ACTUALLY LOSING WEIGHT (don't push yourself too hard on this one, it's much healthier to take a slow approach to a healthier lifestyle if weight loss is your goal). I looked through prior threads with the keyword "weight" and saw a few, but none that were directly on this topic. This is specifically tips on how to shed a pound or two before the convention; please ask relevant questions or suggest a tip to be as on-topic as possible [as opposed to just discussing cosplay's motivation for weight loss, etc].

-Jingles
It's the week before a big convention. You're debuting your new costume, and you're so excited! But you'd like to shear off the extra few pounds that snuck in somewhere along the sleepless nights at your sewing machine, VHS copy of Yu Yu Hakusho blaring in the background and sewing tools everywhere. You want to show off your costume and get as in-character as possible - so how can you do it, reasonably, while staying healthy and not hurting yourself by neglecting to eat?

:confused: The question: How can I lose a little bit of weight/appear slimmer for a convention if I don't have much time?