PDA

View Full Version : Please! Need help with making metal looking armor :)

Gabbana
06-24-2010, 06:19 PM
I'm not sure if I'm posing this in the correct spot so forgive me if I"m not. I'm very new to this lol.

My boyfriend and I are going to Blizzcon this year. He has been playing forever and I have been playing for about a year, I've always loved costumes and thought this would be a great event to dress up at!

So here I am... Kinda clueless lol

This is what I am planning on making:

http://iusbvision.files.wordpress.com/2010/02/sylvanas-windrunner.jpg

I want it to look like real metal but I'm 95-100lbs, it can't be anything too heavy.... Here is where my problem comes in, I just don't know what to use to make the shoulders/chest/boots and all the pieces that look like metal or at least hard armor.

I thought about using Bondo from watching a guy's video on how to make a Halo helmet but I'm afraid it would be too heavy once it's all done, does anyone know if it will? I thought about craft foam too but didn't think it would be durable enough, even if I fiberglass it... Can anyone spare some time and help me out? ANY suggestions, comments, anything at all will be much appreciated.

Zil
07-14-2010, 12:23 PM
I've never made a costume with this much armor, but I had some really nice results for a Tifa elbow pad. I used a cardboard base in the shape I wanted with a layer of fiberglass over top to give the piece some strength, and then coated it in paperclay. I got a smooth finish without having to sand fiberglass (which I hear is a pain.) It's got some thickness to it like real armor and it's really light as well. Not sure how well this would work for a whole costume (that's a lot of paperclay :O) but it might be worth a shot.

fev
07-14-2010, 12:46 PM
its all about the painting!! as long as you get whatever shape you're aiming for, if you can lay down some paint that can give it a metallic feel, you'lll be good to go!