PDA

View Full Version : Help needed for Kratos Aurion's Weapon

Daramue
06-30-2010, 01:51 PM
Hello, I've checked the forum around and this seems to be the appropriate place to post this, so here goes:

I'm new at cosplay (Not anime conventions though). I have decided to cosplay at Kratos Aurion from Tales of Symphonia for the gamecube. Essentially I have my costume and I am working on getting a wig, however, I have a major obstacle: I am not sure what to do about Kratos' weapon.

I have given amazon a fair shot but have been unable to find anything that could work. I'm not really sure how to go about getting a weapon, I was basically looking for a base sword that I could paint (With sheath), but I have not had any luck. Can anyone direct me to a website where I could find this sort of thing? Where do most people get their weapons?

Here's a reference picture of Kratos: http://www.tales-central.com/picturegallery/symphoniapictures/images/kratos8.jpg

I would appreciate any help. Thank you all in advance.

rubyredrose
07-02-2010, 02:27 PM
Well, most people in this thread make them from scratch, honestly. My suggestion would be to do that, since you'll want a con safe prop, I'm assuming.

Also, there is a Tales of thread here (http://www.cosplay.com/showthread.php?t=212462).

Allisande
07-03-2010, 11:42 AM
As for making it, it really depends on how quickly you need it. There's a great tutorial for making swords out of cardboard, wood, and nearly everything else in between. They are all linked in the stickies at the top of the page. I made Lloyd's swords earlier this year out of wood and they worked great, but for Kratos, you might want to consider cardboard or foam or something for the weight issue and the time issue.

KratosAurion28
08-03-2010, 06:28 AM
@Daramue Hello. I´m working on doing Kratos cosplay as well. And have the sword done except the sheath. So I tell you how I did it.

My sword looks like this :Kratos Aurion sword (http://i32.tinypic.com/33llbw9.jpg).