PDA

View Full Version : What material for Varia Suit (Metroid) armor?

ctccromer
07-25-2010, 09:34 AM
So one thing I REEALLY wanna do one day (when i have money to spend... currently saving almost every penny for car insurance/gas or else i have to get a job that i dont have time for) is to make a Metroid Varia Suit cosplay. But I wanna go ALL OUT. I dont want it to just be fabric or something like http://www.hemmy.net/images/games/metroid01.jpg but i want it to look like ACTUAL ARMOR (and feel like it)

This isnt happening for at LEAST a year, probly more, but I'm curious, what material should i use? I don't really know anything about materials and fabric and all that. I'm a musician and game designer xD

Also, I was thinking about it last night and figured I'd have to do it in 7 parts: Head, body, arm, arm/cannon, pelvis area, leg, leg. I'd make it in more parts than 7, but when it's finally done, those would be the 7 parts to put on when i wear it. Is there a simpler way?

Sentinel150
09-03-2010, 11:35 PM
I have made two Samus suits (both as last-minute and cost-effective first armor cosplay projects too!) I describe my process in the last paragraph of my Dark Suit page.

The armor has wrinkles in it, but there is a notably better result in the Fusion than the Dark because I dabbled into paperclay to smooth out areas and employed the use of more Model Magic. Both Model Magic and Paperclay are expensive though :(. I have seen entire Model Magic suits (spread over base layers of tackboard) that look amazing, but I can only image how much it would cost O_O.

Unless you work with vacu-form machines, resins/bondo, molds or other more difficult and toxic substances, I would highly suggest frames/foams/mache/model magic and paperclay armor. With a good paint-job it can look more impressive than what it actually is too.