PDA

View Full Version : Staff help

Falinadin
08-25-2010, 08:21 PM
Hello all! I'm about 95% done with my costume as a whole, but then I had to leave for school >.< I'm going to head back home a few days before Blizzcon though, and finish things up.
My Atiesh needs a bit of help. The wood finish and leather I used for the grips ended up being darker than the in game version here: http://static.wowhead.com/uploads/screenshots/normal/67714.jpg but I figured, that's ok as long as I have just about everything else right. So I started painting the bird on top with that grid pattern, and it looked really stupid for some reason. So then I painted a wood pattern on it, and kind of painted some grooves and highlights and a knot or two in the wood. This looked better imo, gave it more of an organic feel, which works for a druid. But it still wasn't as good as I had hoped, I'm really going for quality here.

So I have a couple questions. 1- should I stick 100% with accuracy and paint the grid pattern on it?
2- if I decide to stay with the wood pattern, do you guys have any tips or tricks on how to paint a realistic wood pattern? Thanks!

darkfireradiant
08-26-2010, 02:44 PM
I haven't really painted wood, but I have painted "metal" looks. Usually it's using a base coat and then dry brushing it with a sponge with silver or something that would give the appearance of metal under the paint. Wood grain would probably work similar to that I think. Base coat, and then painting the wood grain with a dry brush? Hmm...

I would go with the wood grain to give it a more realistic feel to it, maybe trying lightly painting the grid pattern over it? Sorry my advice isn't too helpful, but maybe it'll give some ideas lol.

Falinadin
08-26-2010, 02:51 PM
Haha no problem, I appreciate any help I can get! I'll try to see if I can get my mom to email me pictures of it at the moment so I can show them to you guys.