PDA

View Full Version : Link ideas

lyraparry11
08-27-2010, 01:32 PM
I want to cosplay as link (probably twilight princess version) for anime Boston 2011, which is a good 8 months away, so I'd like to make a really nice costume. I have some ideas as to how to make certain pieces, and I'd like to ask you guys for suggestions. I'm not a total newbie to cosplay, and I know what kinds of reactions I'd get from people at cons (re: people won't kill you if everythings not perfect) but I'd love some advice and opinions.

Hair: I have long dark brown hair, but my bangs/the front of my hair is absolutly perfect for cosplaying link. I could put the rest up and hide it under the hat. It would be absolutly perfect, but I don't want to bleach my hair blond. Should I get a wig (would be my first wig, and I'd be mediocre at styling I'm sure) or would my natural hair be close enough that I don't need to bother?

Pants/leggings: tight off-white skinny jeans:I think it would look better than leggings, really, and I think in terms of material, denim (or twill even) would be more accurate than that stretchy, almost see through stuff leggings are made of now.

Hat/undershirt/belt/sheath/boots: should be easy enough to make/buy/alter those things

sword: I'm thinking of getting a sheet of foam board and cutting the parts out of that, then doubling/tripling/quadrupling/etc the layers of foam where nessecary. I'd put a wooden dowel in it for added strength. For color I'd either use paint or sharpie to color it accurately. If I noticed whatever I used for color rubbed off on my hands, perhaps a layer of elmers glue painted over it would help? And the handle will be covered with electrical tape in the appropriate colors.

Shield: probably also going to be made of foam board? (wooden props aren't an option)