PDA

View Full Version : Working out helps control acne?

joanamysts
09-07-2010, 10:02 AM
I was curious about anyone's experience with this. I've had moderate acne since I hit puberty, but since I started working out (about two miles of walking or biking, light weightlifting six days a week) I've found that it's started to disappear. I haven't adjusted my diet much since I'm trying to ease into that part. So, opinions?

juusanbantaigrr
09-07-2010, 10:08 AM
I know that mine got better when I started lifting weights--probably as a side effect of me drinking more water than I usually would =D

distantarray
09-07-2010, 10:10 AM
I was curious about anyone's experience with this. I've had moderate acne since I hit puberty, but since I started working out (about two miles of walking or biking, light weightlifting six days a week) I've found that it's started to disappear. I haven't adjusted my diet much since I'm trying to ease into that part. So, opinions?

as long as your bathing well afterwards I can't see why not, since your pores will be pushing out a lot of sweat constantly it's pushing out old dirt which would be left inside. Also working out increases the release or hormones and endorphines, and help relieves stress which should help as well. Also drinking more water, and eating better foods which should come naturally with working out.

Although if you take some supplements like testosterone boosters or anything else which could emensely change your hormonal balance then it could make it worse, but at the sametime these guys are probably hitting the gym 2+ times a day and not showering atleast 3 times a day. 1 after each workout, and before or after bed.

It's probably best to take a swim or a cold shower to stop perspiration directly after a tough workout to not aggitate pre-existing acne, and to use a good exfoliating body/face wash along with a good exfoliating body towel like salux towels. (luffah's suck)

joanamysts
09-07-2010, 10:19 AM