PDA

View Full Version : Sparda's Force Edge (DMC Sword help needed!)

Demonic Pocky
09-14-2010, 07:42 PM
Ok so I'm a prop-making noob so admit that now.
I'm in the process of making a Sparda Cosplay from Devil May Cry. Here's some reference of the character if you need it http://i463.photobucket.com/albums/qq352/Rosenkruz_Kaiba/Sparda.jpg
So I've decided I'm going to make his sword Force Edge as a prop (I think it's easier than trying to make it's final form) I have done a little looking as to making prop swords but there's still stuff I'm clueless about. So here's the reference I could find of the sword http://i219.photobucket.com/albums/cc155/shinsupremekai2002/Regular%20Weaponry/weapon.jpg
in this picture you see Virgil holding it in his left hand if that help with size comparison http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f230/vergil123/7b30622a.gif but if anyone wants to venture a guess a at some measurements go right ahead.
So I've heard the most common methods are wood and foam core. I'm leaning towards the foam, fiberglass, resin method and was wondering if anyone's used this method and would like to share the results. I've also heard people say to make the blade in two pieces and glue them together, and making the hilt separate and then attaching it but nobody's very specific on how to do that... And if anyone know how with this method to raise certain areas like the designs on the handle part as well as indented parts. What I want to know is the best way to go about making a sword like this any advice would be great! (or some good tutorials!)

essex1984
09-15-2010, 01:08 AM
well you did choose a pretty simple sword all things considered for cosplay.

You have lots of options and the linked photos help. First i would look at what you budget stands at. If you have the money to invest in this prop then Resin and fiberglass are going to get you a much strong more durable prop.