PDA

View Full Version : I wanna keep my curves! Help?

Machine_Sound
10-23-2010, 11:25 AM
Hey, I've been cosplaying for about 6 years now, but only recently have I become much more serious about it. I try my best to go for accuracy! But sometimes I worry about my weight inhibiting my cosplay choices.

For example I wanted to be Envy from FMA, so I told myself I'd exercise to fit the part. What I wanted was not to loose weight so much but just to tone my body. But I couldn't figure out how to do that.

I like my curves! I don't want to loose them by loosing too much weight, but I don't want them to be flabby and uneven either! I'm one of those people who is in between slim and a bit chubby, you know? I'd like my curves to be smoother, so I was wondering if anyone knew any exercise tips on toning your body so I don't have, for lack of better words, rolls or flab.

Please help! I'd greatly appreciate it!

Chocolahime
10-23-2010, 11:41 AM
Well I guess I will start by stating the most obvious. You can't control how your body loses weight/reacts to exercise so whatever curves you have may decide to leave or stay no matter what you are doing.
As for toning people seem to misunderstand and think toning is something different than building muscle. It's the same thing. And the problem is that "toning" without losing weight is pretty useless since you need to lose the weight to show the muscle underneath.
So really start working out and see how you start losing weight. If you think you are losing too much weight then stop, you won't suddenly be a beanpole or weightlifter in the morning :D
Of course my knowledge could very well be flawed so here's hoping some more experienced people come around.

32spartan11
10-23-2010, 12:23 PM