PDA

View Full Version : Motivation

blacknekohinata
11-07-2010, 02:06 AM
The last time I went to an anime convention I was in the 9th grade. I'm now a sophomore in college and didn't think a chance would spring up again since the last time I went with my school anime club. I live in the MI area so I ended up going to Youmacon 2010 with a friend of mine from California. It was our first time getting a hotel so it was pretty exciting and I had two characters picked out to cosplay. I ended up choosing Yin from DTB and Luka Megurine a Vocaloid. I wasn't really thinking much about the size while I was making it and I was too excited from my friend coming home to visit.
The first day of the convention I ended up wearing my Yin cosplay (which turned out amazing!). I was all set to go when I caught a glimpse of myself in the full length mirror next to the closet. I couldn't believe how HUGE I looked. I'm 18yo, 5"9, 230lbs. My waist measurement is 42 (if I remember correctly). I wasn't very happy.
Never the less I still went in cosplay because I wasn't going to let my weight make me miss out on the fun. And I did have a lot of fun. We even found a guy cosplay as Hei from DTB.
But I still wasn't happy with the way I looked.
Basically I'm using this years experience as motivation to loose weight for Anime Expo in January in CA.
I'm actually hoping to go as Marik Ishtar from YGO and (as some may know) he wears a belly shirt.
I was also hoping to motivate those with weight problems who think they are too big to cosplay. You have to remember that it only matters what you think about yourself. And if you don't like the way you look you can change it. I'm hoping I can keep this mentality as I'm sweating buckets at the gym.:bigtu:

saiyamanmasenko
11-07-2010, 02:39 AM