PDA

View Full Version : Wanting Feedback - New Photographer

justine_m1989
12-03-2010, 08:16 AM
Hey!

I have a Deviant Art account where I post not only photos taken of me, but work I've done.

Could I get helpful critiques on the following photoshoots:

Tamaki
Mello
Asa
Sakura

http://justinem1989.deviantart.com/

I plan on posting more. I have some photos done of my friend who cosplayed Austria, I haven't gotten around to it yet.

I use a Nikon D5000 and a fixed 50mm lens for my photoshoots. Sometimes it's the standard 18mm-55mm zoom.

Any recommendations are greatly appreciated! Especially on what settings to use. I want to start doing photography for cosplayers so if there are specific lenses/flashes I should get, that would be helpful as well. Thanks!

Ashurachan
12-03-2010, 11:29 AM
(ate my comment, so I'll make it shorter)

You are, quite obviously, a complete beginner, and trust your camera to choose the best settings for you. Unfortunately, the camera does not really know what you're trying to do, so you need to learn, first and foremost, how it works, in order to be able to guide it.
I don't tell you to go full manual right now, but learning a few things about exposure and the aperture/shutter speed/ISO trinity is the most important.

You don't need more gear right now. The lenses you have won't do absolutely everything, but they're enough for cosplay photoshoots. Flashes are useful, but they're also hard to use properly, so I'd suggest you stick to natural light for now.

A good setting is a setting appropriate to the character you're shooting. Just keep your eyes opened in case you run accross an unusual place. When you don't know where to shoot, go to the closest park, natural settings are the easiest to work with.

justine_m1989
12-03-2010, 03:29 PM
(ate my comment, so I'll make it shorter)