PDA

View Full Version : 20's style steampunk

RiotGirl
01-05-2011, 07:20 PM
I'm a bit of a newbie to steampunk, so I was wondering if I could get some help. I'm thinking about going to the World Steampunk Fair in NJ in May, and I really want to do a costume for the speakeasy they'll have set up. Thing is, I don't really know what makes a 20s style steampunk outfit. I have a few flapper dresses that I could pick from, but otherwise I'm stuck. Any ideas?? Thanks!

glitter bomb
01-05-2011, 09:02 PM
traditional steampunk is early/mid 1800s to very early 1900s. Once you venture into the 1920s to 1940s you're in the subsection or sister realm called diesel punk. search "diesel punk" on google and flickr and you'll get a lot of ideas. these resources will also help:
http://www.ottens.co.uk/gatehouse/dieselpunk.php
http://dieselpunklinks.blogspot.com/
http://www.dieselpunks.org/photo/album/list
http://www.thefedoralounge.com/index.php
http://www.ottens.co.uk/lounge/

Volnixshin
01-06-2011, 09:30 PM
Steampunk can be done in any time period really. Just most people do Victorian or post apocalyptic. I have seen some 20's/40's steampunk before.

glitter bomb
01-06-2011, 09:37 PM
I know, I wasn't saying it's wrong. :) I was pointing out there it has a specific name, so if the OP is looking for inspiration and guidance she'll have the most luck by searching the subcategory. Most forums and photo groups labeled "steampunk" are going to have scads and scads of Victorian, because that is the traditional (not exclusive) time period -- and that is not going to be much help to the OP. But looking specifically for dieselpunk yields tons of inspiration and help. I have some of those sites bookmarked because they have great galleries of 1920s-1940s fashion, as well as examples of how that era has been steamed up.

RiotGirl
01-06-2011, 11:06 PM