PDA

View Full Version : Warcraft Ethereal costume - how would this work?

Ianew
01-06-2011, 01:35 AM
(I originally had this is in cosplay suggestions, then realized my noob mistake)

For quite awhile I've wanted to cosplay an Ethereal from World of Warcraft but I have no idea how to get the effect of looking like a being of pure energy :/

Ethereal pics: Here (http://images.wikia.com/wowwiki/images/d/d9/Haramad-inperson.jpg) and here (http://www.wowpedia.org/images/thumb/4/46/Nexus-Prince_Haramad.jpg/181px-Nexus-Prince_Haramad.jpg)

I'm pretty new to costuming so I'm sure there's a lot of tricks and what not I don't really know, but the best I've come up with is getting a white full body spandex suit and throwing some glitter on it for extra effect. Then make the wrappings out of normal grey cloth and somehow attaching them. I'm sure just sewing them on wouldn't look right, and would be terribly hard on spandex. Fabric glue maybe? I'm really not sure.

Is this even possible without just looking silly?

Any input or advice on this would be greatly appreciated. :]

dbchan
01-06-2011, 07:59 PM
I've been thinking about this too!!

I was on a similar train of thought- A full body suit and cloth wrappings. For the ethereal effect I was pondering carefully hidden LED's or maybe electroluminescent strips (but the latter is pretty expensive).

Reformed Tomboy
01-06-2011, 10:27 PM
Maybe glow in the dark, or uv body paint for underneath? Does that even exist?

LalaFTL
01-07-2011, 12:08 AM
I would definitely go with actual lighting with a white zentai suit to get the glow effect. That would look pretty sweet if done right but it would probably be expensive, as dbchan said.

Ianew
01-07-2011, 12:29 AM
Yeah, the lighting sounds hard. Not only expensive as mentioned, but carefully hiding them in a zentai suit seems impossible unless you do the strips.