PDA

View Full Version : Harley Quinn: Heros-in-tights or Holly Messinger

thekellykid
01-11-2011, 01:46 AM
I'm still very new to cosplay...

But I have always wanted to play Harley Quinn and for years now I've admire d Holly Messinger's Harley Quinn costume. Recently though I have come across heros-in-tights.com and they also have a good looking Harley outfit.
I'm now determined...

Here is my dilemma:
Holly Messinger's costume (http://www.etsy.com/listing/39829983/classic-harley-quinn-costume-custom-made)costs $350, but she makes it custom to your measurements.
Heros-in-tights.com's costume (http://heroes-in-tights.com/TAB(002)-main.html) (shown under "products") costs $140, but it comes in sizes. (listed below)

SIZE HEIGHT (FT./INCH.) WEIGHT (LBS.)
SMALL 5’1”- 5’4" 88-110
MEDIUM 5’4”-5’7” 110-132
LARGE 5’7”-5’10” 132-154
X LARGE 5’10”-6’1” 154-176
XX LARGE 6’1”-6’5” 176-198

Now I am 5'10 and 130lbs with a large bust. I'm afraid with whatever size I order it would either be too short or too baggy.

My question is, has anyone gotten either of these costumes and what do you think?

As far as fit goes, I'm clueless when it comes to tight body suits on me.

Tonksie
01-11-2011, 09:07 AM
Personally, if I were you, I would probably go with the Hero's-in-tights verson. Spandex is very forgiving when it comes to sizing, so you could *probably* go with the large size with them. The only thing I would worry about is if you have an exceptionally long torso or very small waist and large bust and large hips. There's a limit to how much even spandex can conform. If your height is in your legs, you can always make the booties a little bit taller to make up for it.

Or, if you have a sewing machine with an overlock stitch, you can get the larger one, put it on inside out, pin it to where it fits and sew up the sides, being careful to do it evenly so that the patterns don't shift proportion.