PDA

View Full Version : Connecting the layers of a corset?


SantuariosYue
02-15-2011, 08:35 PM
It's probably really obvious, but I have no idea how to do this. I saw someone once connect them on the center seam, and another person on the side seam, but they never said if the connected them at any other seams/places. How does one do this?

Mehdia
02-15-2011, 10:03 PM
What exactly do you mean "connect them"?

SantuariosYue
02-15-2011, 10:07 PM
Like how you have a 'fashion layer' and a lining, and sometimes a third layer between them?

Mehdia
02-22-2011, 01:03 AM
Sorry for the late reply, but now I understand what you mean. If you have a fabric that won't be strong enough to be your outer layer without something strengthening it, what you will do is cut the "fashion layer", something stronger (like a heavier cotton), and then your lining. Once you have them all, baste your "fashion layer" to your middle fabric around all edges. That turns them into one piece and then you sew everything together as usual.

SantuariosYue
02-24-2011, 05:05 PM
Ah, thanks very much! I was really quite confused about this, so I'm relieved that someone knows what they're doing. :)