PDA

View Full Version : DBZ cosplay............is it a crime?

Tygo
10-23-2003, 08:04 PM
Awhile back my friend and I were talking and I mentioned that our group of friends should do some DBZ cosplay. However his reaction was somewhere along the lines of "I wouldn't dude. DBZ cosplay is like looked down upon at these sort of things." Now I'm a newbie to the wonderful world of casplay (only been to 3 cons.) and it got me to thinking "Is that really true?". At first I thought "Yeah,it probably is." seeing as how most of my friends who used to love DBZ don't like it anymore (me exculded,DBZ will always have a special place in my heart!),but later I also thought, "Y'know,my friend has been to about 2 more cons then I have." So my question to you guys is this..........

Does my friend have a point? Or is he just full of it?

Disclaimer: My friends opinions are none of my own. So please no flaming of either of us,since this might be a touchy subject.

CapsuleCorp
10-23-2003, 08:12 PM
Considering the enormous thread in this very forum just a couple spaces down "Is it just me? DBZ cosplay..." your friend is full of it.

Now, people may have their own personal opinions of DBZ cosplay, but that does not reflect a trend or the attitude of the cosplaying society as a whole. The only trouble is, so many people do very low-quality costumes, because all those young kids who like DBZ have no budget or skills. But that doesn't mean it's a bad thing.

After all, I've worn my Dende costume to two cons now, and gotten nothing but spectacular compliments and everyone from kids to adults wanting their picture with me. I plan to wear it to every con for a while. I hope the rest of my DBZ costumes get that much attention, or give that many people a little joy in their day!

Tygo
10-23-2003, 08:15 PM
How did you do the antenae? I have a Piccilo costume,but the thing I couldn't figure out was the antenae.