PDA

View Full Version : Soul Cailbur Tira Hoop!

UnseenDeath
06-26-2011, 04:44 PM
Hi guys~!
This is my first time posting here at cosplay.com so I am hoping for really good advice.

I have been cosplaying as Tira for a while now and I already have a hoop prop made. However, it is made out of plywood. It is heavy, pointy, semi not legal in cons, and doesn't fit in my car without breaking it.

So what i need help with is how do i make a hoop that is easy to take apart (so i can fit it in my car) something that can be legal in con no matter what, printable and not heavy. I live in a small apartment and I am moving at the end of the month. So, i need a material that is easy to work with, not a lot of mess and doesn't require a lot of tools.

I was thinking of using that pink foam that you can get at any hardware stores. Then cutting it the shape of the hoop, then cutting it into sections of two or three. they would mate together (one side male the other side female) and put a whole threw them in order put a pin in each mated area. This would make it hold better while carrying and posing with.

Comments, Suggestions? any kind of help will be very much appreciated.

2DLogic
06-26-2011, 10:25 PM
I was thinking of using that pink foam that you can get at any hardware stores. Then cutting it the shape of the hoop, then cutting it into sections of two or three. they would mate together (one side male the other side female) and put a whole threw them in order put a pin in each mated area. This would make it hold better while carrying and posing with.

Comments, Suggestions? any kind of help will be very much appreciated.

Your idea is very sound. Based on your wants of construction its almost exactly what I'd recommend. Split it down the middle, you should be able to fit that in all but the smallest cars with no trouble.