PDA

View Full Version : Wooden sword prop question (PotC costume)

MythrilDragon
09-10-2011, 03:17 PM
I'm making this (http://www.costumersguide.com/potc3/hires20.jpg) costume, and since I'm don't have the time or the skill to make a prop sword from scratch, I'm thinking of using a wooden taichi sword and painting/decorating it. It doesn't have to look perfect, but does anyone have suggestions for a good sword to use (and a reliable place to get it)? A scabbard, while it would be nice to have, isn't completely necessary either.
Also, what would be the best way to go about painting it? I have some limited experience with craft foam but not wood. Again, it doesn't have to be completely perfect/accurate but I mainly just want something that would look decent and somewhat in character with the costume.

I'd like to use wood because of rules/constraints on props at certain conventions. It can't be metal.

Thanks!

Nachoman
09-10-2011, 04:41 PM
I really wish people would learn how to use the "Search" button.

MythrilDragon
09-10-2011, 06:08 PM
I've been able to find information about painting them, but even after searching I still haven't found much good advice about where specifically to get a decent wooden taichi/taiji practice sword that's good for painting. Most sword tutorials and stores that I've found focus more on katanas, Western swords, etc. There are sites that sell these wooden tai chi swords, but does anybody here have any opinions about which of these websites and/or swords are the best (or know any threads where these swords are discussed)?

Nachoman
09-10-2011, 07:12 PM
There is no such thing as "good for painting". Buy any wooden sword that looks accurate enough on shape and size, then you finish it: