PDA

View Full Version : Fake moustache and beard

Masako
12-09-2003, 07:38 PM
I'm going to crossplay as Captain Jack Sparrow real soon and I need some tips on where to buy (online or offline stores too) fake moustaches and beards. And how to attach them, this is my first time cross-playing let alone wearing a moustache. :/ I'm kinda scared about it....

Any help is appreciated, thanks again!

Kisa
12-09-2003, 08:02 PM
Pre-made mustaches/beards can be bought and just spirit gummed on...
If you want something custom, colour the area with an eyeliner pencil, then spirit gum the area and dust on lose hair. You can usually buy it at theatrical-supply stores. Then you just add longer hair where you need it, carefully with good ol' spirit gum.

Masako
12-12-2003, 01:06 AM
I've never used Spirit Gum before any tips?

JoeBoeing
12-12-2003, 01:50 AM
Joe's tips on spiritgum:

1. buy bottle of spirit gum
2. wash and dry area to be applied
3. Spead a nice amount (don't gob it in) in desired place
4. take finger and lightly and quickyly tap spirit gum til tacky
5. Put on fake mustache/beard
6. blend in area around with make up for color definition

Some people put spirit gun on the fake beard and mustaches as well but I personally never did. It doesn't stick as well in future uses.

EDIT: Some people are allergic to spirit gum and will get a rash that can last a couple days to a couple weeks... so test it on your body 1st.

From,
Joe

Karisu-sama
12-12-2003, 02:03 AM
Don't forget to get SPIRIT GUM REMOVER!!

(In a pinch, nail polish remover also helps.)

JoeBoeing
12-12-2003, 04:21 AM
Ponds cold cream is what I use to remove spirit gum... works really well. Also good for the skin.

From,
Joe

Koumori
12-12-2003, 08:52 AM