PDA

View Full Version : any ideas on how to do tattoos??

Haruka
06-04-2002, 11:52 AM
hello!....im a newbie.....^_^......anywhoots...i plan on making a shiki costume...and this character has a huge tattoo of a snake on her back and all down her leg. i really want to make that tattoo, but i dont wanna have to paint it on my body...cause its all messy and yucky:p ......
do any of you have any suggestions on how i can make a neat-o tattoo with out junking up my skin??

A A
=(^^)= meow
(v v)
o o

Ayaka
06-04-2002, 12:47 PM
If you were wearing a bodysuit, you could paint it onto that instead of your real skin. Otherwise, I think you're looking at body paint. I can't think of anything else.

Mei Lan Chang
06-04-2002, 02:34 PM
Yea, that is the only thing I can think of. Or instead of using paint you could use marker, then you would have a neat tatoo for a few days. However, that might not be convenient if you are at a con and want to wear <i>other</i> costumes. >_<

Medellia
06-04-2002, 03:46 PM
Well, if you do end up using body paint, make sure to get setting powder. It's a translucent powder that you brush over the body paint and that helps to set it, so it doesn't smear all over the place. The markers idea is a good one if you don't have to worry about other costumes

Haruka
06-04-2002, 06:22 PM
hmm yes..i like the idea about using a body suit of sorts...perhaps i could draw the tattoo on a pair of tights using a marker....hmmmm..*ponders*......eck its going to be quite a job!! :crylaugh: but you know...love for the cosplay!!

MyuMyu
06-05-2002, 10:39 PM
hm..well, i would suggest henna, ive used it for costume things before and it looks beautiful, but if your looking for something less......on forever, try a marker, or liquid eyeliner - ive used that for tatoo'd costumes before and it works fantastically ^_^

quixotic
06-06-2002, 01:54 AM
hmm... some ink, a needle... lots of time ;P

Lady Somairot
06-09-2002, 01:47 AM