PDA

View Full Version : Ezio's ACII Embroidery

mollsiewallsie
06-24-2012, 01:40 AM
Hello, everyone! I'm making an Assassin apprentice cosplay for Comic-Con based mainly on Ezio's original Assassin outfit from ACII http://images3.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20111012023440/assassinscreed/images/8/8e/Ezio.jpg and one of the Florentine Assassin apprentices http://images1.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20110124021861/assassinscreed/images/2/26/Assassin_Apprentice_2.jpg

http://i762.photobucket.com/albums/xx264/citruskittle/AssassinOutfitFinal-Resized.png
(Plus it'll have Ezio's cape and more pouches on the belts)

My problem is how to do the silver Renaissance-style embroidery patterns on the front of Ezio's drapes. I haven't been able to find a template for the design anywhere, and I'm not sure exactly how to go about it. I have some experience sewing, but this is my first hand-made cosplay. I was planning to make a template for the embroidery out of paper, then paint on the design with silver acrylic paint, and then do a satin-stitch over it with silver thread. But for someone who's an amateur at sewing, is painting it and then also doing the satin-stitch over-kill?

So my main questions are:
1) Does anyone have a clean template of the embroidery pattern?
2) Will silver acrylic paint even work on fabric?
3) Should I just skip the painting step and draw on the design with pencil instead, and then satin-stitch it from there?
4) Are there better methods to stitch it on?

Any answers would be much appreciated. Thank you so much!

ClockworkMurmur
06-25-2012, 11:33 AM
I'm on the same boat as you are! I'm going to use paint instead of embroidering.