PDA

View Full Version : Low Budget, Teen Steampunk Ideas?

MmmmToasty
08-04-2012, 06:05 PM
I am a 13 yr old boy, and I really want to do a Steampunk Cosplay. Problem is, I've never done a cosplay before :(
My questions are, how do I start? Has anyone aided someone my age in making a cosplay? Anything I should know?
Thank y'all! :heart:

P.S. I already have a pretty kickass Steampunk Nerf gun :geek:

BlondieSundae
08-05-2012, 12:11 AM
Try looking in to thrift stores and finding clothing that looks close to victorian that you could maybe mod to look better.

Mehdia
08-05-2012, 12:48 AM
Like Spaz said, hit up thrift shops and see what you can find.

Before you go though, look at steampunk pictures, decide what you want your character to do (this will help you decided what kind of clothing to look for), and then make a list so you can stay focused on finding what you need. Thrift shops can be overwhelming, but if you have an idea of what you are looking for, you might be able to stay on track a bit better.

monstermegs
08-17-2012, 10:38 PM
I know what these guys are talking about. I'm 14 year old girl and thrift stores are the best place to get stuff. Get reference photos so you know what you need like brown shorts or white dress shirt etc. You might even find something there and build around it. I found i giant thermometer shaped like a stopwatch so I became the white rabbit from alice in wonderland with a steampunk twist of course ;) You can ask family and friends to help but since being a teen you tend to be on a budget so check your recycling and use pop cans or something if you need some metal.

vampricyoda
11-25-2012, 08:15 AM
One of the other ways to go as far as props is to go to a cheap store (5 Below/Dollar Tree ect) and find a water gun with a design you like then paint it the brass/metal colors that would match your costume. You'd have a very cheap prop.