PDA

View Full Version : Henna

Arrow
03-12-2004, 10:56 AM
I've never used Henna before, but my friend has and I've watched her several times. I'm interested in using it, to experiment with some things and everything. I figured this could be used for others so that they can post whatever questions they may have about Henna, etc.

These are mine:

1) How long does Henna usually stay on the skin? Is there a special remover that can be used in case one needs to get it off ... or makes a mistake?
2) Can you make your own 'stencil' like things, and if so, what should they be made out of? Can you use, say, paper, or does it need to be something that the Henna won't bleed through?
3) What areas of the body should Henna not be applied to?
4) Do they now make different color "Hennas" or is it just the one?
5) Are there different 'brands' of it, and if so, which is the best/worst/cheapest, etc.?

Any other tid bits would be greatly appreciated, I'm sure. Anyways, thanks in advance, as always. ^^

Sarcasm-hime
03-12-2004, 12:27 PM
1) the longer you leave it on the skin, the darker the design will be. It's recommended that you leave it on for a few hours at least, the best is to wrap the area and leave it on overnight. So it doesn't leave a dark mark immediately; you can wipe it off if you're quick. It lasts about 2 weeks usually.
2) I haven't used stencils....but I'd suspect it should be something inert like plastic.
3) Henna takes best to areas where there are blood vessels close to the skin, like hands and feet. It can take other places but the design will not be as dark. I'm not aware of specific 'bad' places, but I'd imagine you should keep it away from eyes, mouth etc.
4) There are lots of different colours but I haven't used them personally.