PDA

View Full Version : What's make up?

Juu-Sama
04-12-2004, 10:14 PM
not only am I new to cosplaying, I am also new to make up due to recent growth into and over puberty (just turned 16) I have yet to use any kind of make up on my face (okay maybe some done by professionals when I have to go on stage for singing or recital or whatever) but they cost about $240 an hour.

so... um...since I've seen sooooooo many pictures of people looking just as good without spending that $240...so maybe some one can get me started????????

cannot ask mother to help because she does it so terribly that even I know better than to learn from her.

just so that you know...erm...(blushes terribly) :thumbsup: I am probably the only girl in the world who doesn't really know what a base is...and what's the difference between it a concealer?????? ??? ???

thanks for your time

Cindy-sama

Karisu-sama
04-13-2004, 12:01 AM
Eh, Cindy-chan ^^

I don't know about in Japan (re: your profile), but in many department stores in the United States, the people who work at the make-up counter will often give lessons or "makeovers". It may cost a bit, or it may cost nothing - but they are hoping that of course in the end you will buy make-up, and return to buy more.

Concealer is what you dot on top of small areas to hide color differences. Typical concealer colors are skin tones, green (to cancel red spots - it actually works) and yellow (to cancel blueish areas, such as under the eyes.) Concealers may be used under foundation, or just by themselves when one wants to help quickly hide a "blemish". Of course they should be blended into the skin, not just dotted on like paint. :p Different natural shades should be available to buy, since there are many different tones of skin.