PDA

View Full Version : Naruto cosplay - Kabuto (New to this, any help appreciated)

Playingmyrole
05-10-2004, 06:18 PM
It seems that Naruto-cosplay is becoming extremely popular, so I feel a little bad asking a question regarding it, as you've all probably seen dozens of similar threads recently. However, I'm hoping that the character I'm choosing is one of the less-frequently cosplayed... >>;;

Kabuto. (I've found a website with a lot of reference pictures here (http://narutopix.littlecooldude.com/Kabuto/), if you don't know what he looks like.)

I'm new to cosplaying -- first time! -- and was wondering if I could get any suggestions from the pros. on how to make certain parts of/where to find materials for this costume.

Unfortunately, I can't sew and I'm not sure if I know anyone who can, and (though this is less of a problem) I'm female, so it'll be crossplay (I believe that's the term, right?).

Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.

cgmangotiger
05-11-2004, 02:09 AM
*Waves* I too am doing a less cosplayed Naruto character: Kiba!

I think that makes two of us: I'm female and can't sew either.

I'm not a pro, but:

As for the materials you need, try a thrift shop and for the cloth over his waist, go to a fabric store. You could try www.ebay.com if your able to do online shopping, go for the cheapest things first though.

It looks like the vest can easily be one of those Old Navy perfomance fleece tops, but I wouldn't want to spend that much money for a one time use...

I don't know though, it's up to you.

kerochan
05-11-2004, 12:17 PM