PDA

View Full Version : Eyelash curler hints?

Eleryth
06-03-2004, 07:55 AM
I searched the threads about this... I have never used one, and broke down and bought one, after reading about the fake eyelashes and stuff. However, my eyes are really deep set, and I don't know how to hold the thing to get it near my lashes! I've tried numerous times, but I can just barely reach the tip of my lashes. The...um, metal hinge thingy hits my cheeks and won't go any farther (I have big cheeks... >.<). Not to mention I seem to have problems psychologically having it that close to my eyeball. I have seen other people use them no problem, but not recently.

Any tips/advice?

I feel inept. :(

KuroBara
06-04-2004, 12:19 AM
Hmm...I think you just have to angle it differently. I have big cheeks too, I'm one of those girls who never lost the baby fat in their face. I usually hold mine in the air so it's not touching my cheek, but it took some practice. I've been using a curler for about 8 years, so it kind of comes naturally now. I reccomend practicing, or getting someone to help you in person. Maybe a friend, relative, or makeup counter pro?

archangeli
06-04-2004, 12:32 AM
also - not all eyelash curlers are created equal. there are the stupid plastic ones (which i hate, but some people swear by), the metal ones and the "Japonesque" one.

Regardless of which type you use, look for one that has a pad made of surgical rubber, with a rounded surface. Cheap curlers have a flat pad which "crimp" your eyelashes instead of curling them.

The trick is to get your all of your lashes into the space between the pad and the piece that presses agains the pad when you squeeze the curler. It does take a bit of practice to get used to the feeling at first but once you get the hang if it it's a cinch.