PDA

View Full Version : Where can I get a white kimono? (Kotoko from Chobits costume)

Kateko
09-18-2004, 01:45 PM
I plan to be Kotoko from Chobits...and I want to shorten up a white kimono, because I'm new to sewing and figure that would be much easier than sewing an entire kimono. Does anyone know of a website I could order a completely white kimono?

michiko-chan
09-18-2004, 02:35 PM
Completely white kimono are not easy to find and they certainly aren't cheap. Generally they are only worn for wedding ceremonies (these are called shiromuku). You can find some on Ebay, but I think it would be easier just to make one. (and if you did buy one, you'd likely think twice before cutting up something so beautiful)
This thread has good information about kimono patterns and links for how to wear it. http://forums.cosplay.com/showthread.php?t=37659

Kuro Yue
09-18-2004, 04:08 PM
I second that. I searched for weeks for a pure white kimono that I could mess with for my abandoned Sesshoumaru costume, and there was NOTHING.

rei_hino
09-18-2004, 06:57 PM
I third that, lol^^ Making you're own is certainly not easy (especially for someone who hasn't sewn for a long time) , but is much cheaper thanordering a real one. Besides, you can buy the material that you want it to be, because kimonos might be hot or something (i've never worn one, but I'm picturing a thick material here. . .) Besides, it's good to try, and it's good practice. I mean, when you're making something, you'll be thinking "I'm never using that again. =_=" or" Maybe I should have done it this way" or my personal favorite "Oh, so. . now I get how to sew sleeves (after sewing the sleeves on the costume completely wrong, then I figured it out^^) and that way you learn form you're mistakes, and you use you're knowledge that you gained for other costumes so you won't make the mistakes again.^^ *end of babbling*

newmyu
10-04-2004, 02:24 PM