PDA

View Full Version : Sango (from Inuyasha)'s commoner outfit

Tenshi Zeruelle
01-18-2005, 03:43 PM
would her pink/purple/green ensemble be considered a yukata or a kimono? (im a newbie i have no clue :3)

how can i make her green skirt thingy have no split in the back? like how the creators fashioned her skirt to be? thanks!

Hikari Kiara
01-18-2005, 04:59 PM
for the kimono, I think it was meant to be a simplistic kimono, but a yukata pattern would work too, and woul be easier! For the skirt, you could try to simply follow a pattern for a green skirt an wear it over the kimono.
Some good patterns for kimonos:
Butterick - B6698
Simplicity - 5839

Best of luck with that!

Kumi-chan
01-18-2005, 09:36 PM
I've heard her outfit referred to more as a yukata than a kimono...maybe because it has just straight sleeves, instead of the long pocket ones. It probably has a more proper name, but then I'm not an expert on fuedal Japanese wear. Then again, all traditional Japanese clothing can technically be called kimono...but as far as specifics go, I'd call it a yukata and leave it at that.

As for the skirt, I'm planning on doing a wrap-around skirt with a waistband for my Sango village-girl outfit. I have to redo it, since my first apron only covered the front. It'll be similar to a sarong with a waist tie. That way, there's no visible split in the back, and it still has the waistband that ties at the middle of her back. (Which hers is supposed to do, according to some screenshots I've found of her...lower back. Unfortunately, they all seem to contain at least part of Miroku's hand, as well.) The skirt/apron should wrap around your waist at least one and a half times: I think having it wrap fully around your legs twice might restrict your movement too much.

Kate-chan
01-23-2005, 03:58 PM
It's a yakuta, 'nuff said.

sesshy_lover_CP
01-24-2005, 04:14 PM