PDA

View Full Version : costume prices?

Setsuna22
01-19-2003, 11:59 AM
I'm fairly new to cosplay <never actually done it> But I have boughten a few little costumes! I'm thinking about having one proffesionally made, (Of Nuriko) But, It's gonna cost me about $250! Is this a good idea? It will be a fairly elaborate costume! I'm just not sure if It's a good idea to spend that much money! Thanks ^_^

Celine
01-19-2003, 12:06 PM
Which version of Nuriko? ^^ He's got several different outfits, and I believe that the difficulty levels vary. As I used to take commissions, I think that amount sounds very reasonable for a professionally-made costume. If you've heard good things about the person you're commissioning, or have seen their work in person, you should be fine. Custom-made costumes are often more expensive than people think, but you generally get wonderful results. ^_^

cutekawaii
01-19-2003, 12:07 PM
If it's professional, that's a great deal! Don't let that one get away!

Hikaruchan
01-19-2003, 12:54 PM
If it is Nuriko's traveling outfit(s) might be a little high depending on the maker's skill, but if its one of the court outfits from a good maker that is a very good price.

RoseDuelist
01-19-2003, 01:00 PM
If you can afford it, do it. I can't afford it. I have to make my costumes in pieces. Yesterday I spent $6.00 on fabric. I'll make that part of the costume and a few weeks from now, when I have some more change, I'll buy more fabric and continue.

Merle-kun
01-19-2003, 01:50 PM
I guess I see comissioned costumes as being too much. But that's largely in part to my being able to make my own. Costumes are a lot of work though. And sometimes, even the simple ones can present more work that you might think. I've been surprised a few times. My best advice is to learn to sew yourself, and eventually start making your own costumes. It's a lot of fun for me to figure out the problems in creating things, and it would lose all it's pull if I had mine made by others.