PDA

View Full Version : Bright daytime photography

Eleryth
07-06-2005, 10:23 PM
Last year I attened Comiket in the summer, and it was really bright outside, the middle of the day (10am-3pm). I thought I read somewhere that one should face the sun to get rid of the crazy shadows, but this makes me squint really bad.

Any advice for posing in the bright outdoors? Which way should I try to face? Tilt head up or down? That type of thing.

Also, since I may be wearing a hat (wide straw brim), this will cast shadows, I'm sure of it. Should I remove the hat for photos? Would facing the sun be better than not facing it?

I'm also going to be taking a few photos at comiket. I'm no pro, just photos for fun/to remember events, but I can use this advice to maoever myself to a better vantage point to take slightly better/more flattering pictures. Should I take pictures from lower down, or usual standing height if outside on a bright day?

Sorry for the really newbie sounding post... I'm not good at posing, I'd like some decent photos to come out of the next Comiket, and I'd like to help the photogs as best I can (language barrier and all). At the end of the month, I'd like to do some practice shots trying out the advice (if any is given), so we'll see how that goes. I just wanted a starting point and an opinion that is much more well informed than mine.

This type of info would probably help others attending summer conventions where lots of outdoor photos are being taken. I thank you all in advance.

*Shiva*
07-07-2005, 12:03 AM
The rule of the model facing the sun is something that's important to help out the photographer as opposed to the model. Unless a photographer is specifically trying to shoot a sunset or some other sun-related event, it behooves them to shoot with their backs to the sun so that the light will illuminate the subject and prevent glare. Unfortunately, that can be difficult for the model if they're left squinting into the sky.

Some suggestions: