PDA

View Full Version : Slide Film Suggestions

dmk26
09-16-2005, 05:47 PM
Hi all
I'm getting ready to do an outdoor shoot, but just for the heck of it, I wanted
to try and get some pictures on slides in addition to digital pictures. I've never used slides before and was wondering if any one has suggestions on what slide film to use.

Efecss
09-18-2005, 10:14 PM
Okay, this is going back a bit. But when I was taking classes, my instructor said that most professionals used asa64 kodachrome. It has a tight grain, and color is very good. I have used it before, and I loved the way it came out. But, it is not good unless you have good to great lighting. OUtside is perfect.

But, for your catch-all use, kodachrome at 400 asa is your best bet.

But, I would say, mix them, and see what happens.

Elemental
09-19-2005, 01:08 AM
I wouldn't really bother with slides much as, unless you already have a projector and carousel, they're outdated. Kodak discontinued their carousels in 2004, and finding one now means searching second hand shops, ebay, and fle markets.

This means finding slide film can be difficult and means you're looking in a photography store, not wallmart. Slide processing also is normally one outside most establishments, so expect to wait about two weeks for the slides themselves, as they use the E6 developer, and 35mm film uses the C41.

Slides DO have higher tonal range- though they're harder to shoot and not under/over expose.

I'm not postive that it's still on the market, but Fuji's Astia is one of the better brands, and from what I've been told use 200, as 400 can have some pretty bad grain issues.

didjiman
09-21-2005, 04:41 AM
Provia 100F - slightly saturated. Amazing grain (nee: just about none). Provia 400F is just a tad more grainy if you need the speed. I shot ~200+ rolls of them.