PDA

View Full Version : Retouching

positivespace
01-16-2006, 02:38 AM
I'm a photographer-by-luck at best, but on the rare occasions that I'm able to produce something good I'll often go in and "help" a cosplayer out by blurring out blemishes, cloning out stray wig hairs, etc. Does anyone else out there do the same?

I wonder sometimes if cosplayers mind at all or if there is some societal standard that I'm playing to by cloning out that zit on a chin. As a cosplayer, I don't mind if a photographer does that for my photos, but would any of you argue that by doing so I'm stripping away the "realness" of the subject?

I'd like to hear your thoughts on the subject!

Wage
01-16-2006, 03:25 AM
On pro photoshoots, after they get the film out of the dark room, and scanned in, they do allsorts of cleaning up, right? I don't like it when a photo is mega airbrushed, but, getting rid of redeye, or a blemish seems fair. And let's face it, at a con, the wind has blown your hair around, you have not gotten as much sleep to look your best, you are maybe sharing a bathroom with others, etc. So you can't always look your best. As long as you are not changing the costume itself, then it's okay in my books.

Wage

Ami Yuy
01-16-2006, 03:51 AM
I've started taking out black circles under eyes and blemishes if they're really obvious, but that's generally only on photoshoots or when I spent time taking the image instead of just snapping the photo.

staereo
01-16-2006, 05:10 AM
Interesting thread, something I've often contemplated.

Here's my take.

I touch up an image no matter what the subject. It's part of imaging, and thats what I do. HOWEVER, these touchups are usually picture-wide touchups, contrast, saturation, WHITE BALANCE. As far as retouching a model, in a cosplay sense, I do not do what *I* would consider to be retouching.