PDA

View Full Version : Sound mixing

Psychotic Jei
02-23-2003, 04:34 PM
Just a quick question. What do you guys use to mix your music. bakground or otherwise. Like what programs work well, and which ones just stink. ^___^

Marty
03-11-2003, 02:43 AM
I'm not very good at those kinds of things, but I know if you ask Nyanko-chan, she does all the mixing for her skits and they sound wonderful. :) She can also tell you about certain programs.

In the meantime, my only advice is that if you merely want to cut certain parts of a soundtrack out and assemble them onto one track, you can use Windows Movie Maker to easily do that. Just hit the "record" in WMM, choose "audio only" and then open up what song you want to cut in another program, like Media Player. It's kinda tricky til you get the hang of it but the sound is almost perfect CD quality with no intereference and you can use WMM to assemble your snippets of tracks in the right order. :) I hope that helped!

j-chan
03-17-2003, 05:48 PM
go to download.com and pick up goldwave. i was in the whole amateur voice-acting scene oh-so-long ago, and it's amazing. i highly reccomend it! :D

hope that helps!

DancingVampire
03-18-2003, 06:08 PM
gold wave deff I have it and its SO kool

Lady_Sephiroth
03-18-2003, 06:24 PM
I use Soundforge, it came with my laptop and does a nice job of mixing music and stuff. If you're going to RECORD dialoge, I have no idea, just don't use Windows sound Recorder, I triedthat and it sucked.

Marty
03-18-2003, 06:25 PM
Yes, sound recorder on windows picks up every little noise in the machine, it's a bad idea. Better to get an external mic for your computer.

Eccoglyph
04-15-2003, 10:39 AM
Doh - I've never recorded sounds well, before - figured I'd use an external mic - any suggestions when doing so? I know nothing about what format to use, things to keep in mind, etc. Oh - but for mixing - another fabulous program is CoolEdit.

JustinCredible
04-15-2003, 12:16 PM