PDA

View Full Version : Scanning Negatives

sanjuan
06-29-2006, 10:25 AM
Ahoy there everyone, this is my first time posting here (and I'm not photography expert) so please bear with me :D

I still stick with my good 'ol Canon AE-1, partly out of preference, mostly due to lack of funds ^__^". I really like being able to control my shots rather than fumble with a point and shoot digi-cam....but I digress...

My question of the day is on Scanners that can scan negatives. Y'see, I like to have my stuff in both print form and digital, however, scanning the actual print does not do such a good job at it. An alternative is to sell my kidney to have my negatives scanned and put on a cd for me at some photolab. But I'd rather do things on my own; ie. proccess the negatives then scan them. Are there any good scanners that you'd reccomend? Or any advice with regards to shopping for one of these?

Thanks a bunch!

staereo
06-29-2006, 01:25 PM
I really like being able to control my shots rather than fumble with a point and shoot digi-cam....but I digress...
Are there any good scanners that you'd reccomend? Or any advice with regards to shopping for one of these?
Thanks a bunch!

Ok, Im a little confused. You observe that youre using your ae1 (great old camera, btw), because of funds. True negative scanners are pricey enough, so Im not sure how you feel about buying one. On the other hand, many of todays mainstream consumer scanners are coming with slide and negative adapters, that you can get decent scans from. Do you mean one of these?

On point to your orginal comment, however, todays dSLRs are almost all capable of running in a fully manual mode, and everything in between. They lack nothing, and gain everything.

Bruce

Oklahoma
06-29-2006, 01:54 PM