View Full Version : Dojincon in Las Vegas?

09-10-2006, 12:29 PM
I just noticed the ad at the top of the main forum page and I was curious, so I clicked it. Being a Las Vegan, I wanted to know more the moment I saw that it'll be at the Cashman Center.

My questions can boil dow to this: Is it genuine?

They're saying that they're going to be giving away Wii consoles on November 10-12 when the official release date for Wii isn't even going to be announced until thursday. They're advertising catering by a rather expensive catering group (hooters) which may not be female-fan friendly and are advertising giving away literally tens of thousands of dollars of free prizes based on cosplay and whatnot.

... and their webpage really, REALLY needs a good spellcheck, but that's nitpicky of me.

Anybody else know anything about this, though? My gut feeling is 'too good to be true. Probably false.'

09-10-2006, 12:34 PM
Plus the whole "mail us payment, and then we'll mail you tickets"

Yeah... not feeling to comfortable about that.

09-10-2006, 07:12 PM
its not showing up.... give us a link please

oops nevermind i see it (baka me LOL)

09-10-2006, 07:29 PM
after loking into this con...i would be worried too. why is it not based locally? (mail payments to tracy,ca?)

and the guests page... looks like they copied and pasted these guys logos....and there is no info about them appearing at this con on their own personal sites....i smell something fishy!

09-10-2006, 07:55 PM
I just called Cashman Center.


I call a scam on this con.

09-10-2006, 08:20 PM
The website was registered as of August 28th 2006(thanks whois data).

Why this even got to the cosplay.com front page is beyond me.

09-11-2006, 12:31 AM
*pokes Cosplay.com admins*

Yo. You guys may wanna look into this. :p

09-11-2006, 01:26 AM

The plot thickens. That's off the site's /images/.

Whoever put this together is either connected to cos.com(highly unlikely), or someone's trying to pull a scheme.


What's this? Tucson, AZ?

09-11-2006, 01:58 AM
Another friend of mine noted that the address is linked to another address...which was used in PHISHING.

here is the whois info:
Domain Name.......... dojincon.com
Creation Date........ 2006-08-29
Registration Date.... 2006-08-29
Expiry Date.......... 2007-08-29
Organisation Name.... jennifer j ecker
Organisation Address. P O Box 99800
Organisation Address.
Organisation Address. EmeryVille
Organisation Address. 94662
Organisation Address. CA
Organisation Address. US

Admin Name........... PrivateRegContact Admin
Admin Address........ P O Box 99800
Admin Address........
Admin Address........ EmeryVille
Admin Address........ 94662
Admin Address........ CA
Admin Address........ US
Admin Email.......... contact@myprivateregistration.com
Admin Phone.......... +1.5105952002
Admin Fax............

Tech Name............ PrivateRegContact TECH
Tech Address......... P O Box 99800
Tech Address.........
Tech Address......... EmeryVille
Tech Address......... 94662
Tech Address......... CA
Tech Address......... US
Tech Email........... contact@myprivateregistration.com
Tech Phone........... +1.5105952002
Tech Fax.............
Name Server.......... yns1.yahoo.com
Name Server.......... yns2.yahoo.com

From my buddy "Theranthrope":

According to t3h google, EmeryVille is in the San Fansisco Bay area, on the northern outskirts of Oakland.

And searching for "PO Box 99800" comes up with this interesting website:

(scroll down a bit)





and that's just the top links in the search.

The above info is identical to other whois that were part of multiple phishing scams, a domain registration scam, a money transfer job (419) scam, "pre-release" X-box scam, overstock Ipod scam, a counterfit bigfoot plaster footprint-casting scam (I'm not making that up) and many, many other scams.

Virdect: 100% pure bull.

So please...to those responsible, check all facts before posting any newsbit. This is NOT GOOD.

09-11-2006, 03:21 AM
I've just E-mailed Scott of VGcats, one of the con's "guests," making him aware of the site. The response should be... interesting.

Winter Divinity
09-11-2006, 03:32 AM
Even Anime Vegas, which is been around for at least 3 years now, costs less. i've never even heard of a this con. Would a new con seriously cost $30 to prepay by the end of Sept.? Someone should PM this to Admin.

09-11-2006, 03:35 AM
I already have... ^_^


Scott from VGCats, whose image is stored on the site, possibly for future use as a guest: Has never heard of it before my mail to him. Does not intend to go at this time.

Whitewolf, listed on guest page: Not on schedule. E-mailed for confirmation.

BFE: Not on schedule. E-mailed for confirmation.

C+A+D: Not on schedule. E-mailed for confirmation.

09-11-2006, 08:49 AM
Wow. This is crazy. :O I was interested in this con too, but after seeing the site and reading all the posts in this thread, I, too am skeptical about this.

09-11-2006, 09:51 AM
It looks like it has been removed. Everybody, thanks for your help in tracking down this fraud.

09-11-2006, 10:24 AM
Cosplay.com received a press release and a request to purchase some banner space, and posted both. As soon as I received word that the information was potentially fraudulent, I removed everything from the site and refunded their payment. Thanks to everyone for the heads-up.

09-11-2006, 10:40 AM
I just spoke to the Cashman Center, the paperwork for this convention is in the works. However the Cashman Center does not confirm conventions until contracts are signed and deposits are paid.

09-11-2006, 10:43 AM
Thanks for the update, Rich. I'm keeping this off of the site until full confirmation is made public.

09-11-2006, 10:49 AM
As anything else posted is guaranteed to be pure speculation, I'm closing this thread.