PDA

View Full Version : quality vs. quantity..

Suzushichan
10-03-2006, 03:20 PM
this subject has come up many times between myself, friends and co-workers. i've been working as a photographer, trained and all, for the past 6 months so this has kind of bothered me at some recent conventions. there are photographers who take pics of as many people as they can, but the photos don't do the models or BEAUTIFUL COSTUMES justice. that's what it's about, and if you can do it well, and with style, more power to ya. but what i'm trying to get at is what is everyone's take on this? at a con do you think that quality or quantity is more important. i think that it should be a matter of both. i don't like it when people take bad pictures of my costumes. i've seen them! <_<

Super No 1
10-03-2006, 09:21 PM
Whether you take 10 photos at a convention or 10,000, you should always take the best photograph that you can.

I think the vast majority of photos from a convention are taken by people who don't spend a majority of their time taking photos. They spend most of their time going to screenings, panels, gaming, shopping, etc. If they happen to see a cosplayer in the vicinity, they take a photo even though the conditions may not be the best for taking photos. Most of these photographers aren't too concerned with lighting or if the cosplayer is looking at them or if they are at a bad angle or if the cosplayer is 100 feet away. They just want to take the photo and go on with their business.