PDA

View Full Version : Should be posting here...

Sipo
10-07-2006, 01:33 AM
Guess it's about time I start posting here. I've been putting my photography in practice for quite some time, but rest assured, I am no professional. (You won't see any of my photography in my gallery since all of my photos have been taken by my friends and their point and shoot cameras.)

But anyways! I come with a question: What is the best method for nighttime portraits of people? I have taken photos at night of places/things, using manual setting to make sure I get what I see or want, but it's a different world with people+night. I want to make sure that the photos of the people are flattering, but that I absorb as much of the background and detail as possible. My camera of choice is a Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi (to replace an older version of the Rebel), and all I have is it's built-in flash. I use an 17-85mm (f/4-5.6) zoom lens for most of my portraits/people and landscape/cityscape, and a 70-300mm (f/4-5.6) telephoto zoom lens for some of my landscape/cityscape, in case that helps any. (And of course I have my tripod with me; I don't know how I'd survive without it in some cases!!)

Please, keep in mind that I am an amateur: I am a senior in high school and all of my photographic knowledge is based on what I've learned myself and a friend's father, whos hobby is photography. (I plan to further my knowledge by taking a class as soon as I enter college. :))

Hey, thanks for reading my essay!

jtnishi
10-07-2006, 02:14 AM
Guess it's about time I start posting here. I've been putting my photography in practice for quite some time, but rest assured, I am no professional. (You won't see any of my photography in my gallery since all of my photos have been taken by my friends and their point and shoot cameras.)