PDA

View Full Version : Just looking for some opinions from the pros...

Danzikumaru
12-09-2006, 01:36 AM

Well, many of my cosplay friends have been telling me lately that I've developed a knack for cosplay photography. Which is really suprising, because I always thought that I was pretty lousy at it. But I've recieved many compliments on the photoshoot I did with my wife at the Texas Renaissance Festival (the first nine photos are the ones I did for her) (http://images.cosplay.com/gallery.php?cat=55268&member=4537).

These photos are completely unaltered accept for size. I used a Sony CyberShot (4.1 megapix). I just wanted to know if I really am as talented as I'm being told I am (it's hard for me to believe that I am) and if so, where do I go from here?

jtnishi
12-09-2006, 01:53 AM
I'm not a pro, so take my opinion with a grain of salt. While these shots aren't anything that should blow anyone away, let's say, these definitely show some signs of thought. Understanding there's no need to have the people looking at the camera (let alone the same direction) is a good point from posing. Compositionally, not too bad. This one (http://images.cosplay.com/showphoto.php?photo=920873) strikes me as a shot with potential.

The bigger question is: do you like the shots? If you can't answer that question to the affirmative, it really doesn't matter what your friends think, right?

Whether you have a knack for it is something that requires a bit more introspection. Did these shots come out naturally, or did you have to force them a bit? Can you see where the deficiencies and strengths of these shots are? You probably have at least as much potential as anyone else, so it's going to be the amount of work you choose to put into learning and doing that's going to determine better whether you can develop a serious talent in this.

Danzikumaru
12-09-2006, 02:21 AM