Go Back   Cosplay.com > US Convention Forums > MegaCon

Unread 09-24-2007, 06:33 PM   #1
ChickenDoughnut
Migar Resident

Thinking about attending

Alright so around March I'm going to Orlando to visit old friends, So I heard about MegaCon and I want to go. I went on the site and I could not find any forums for it so I'm going to ask my two questions here:

1: How many people do you think attend?
2: What kinda panels etc. do they have just to give me an idea.

Sorry if this is the wrong place to ask but megacon it sounded really fun!

Best Regards.
::: DeviantArt :::

ChickenDoughnut is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 09-25-2007, 01:26 PM   #2
orca_sora
Ketchup Kosplay Member

I've been attending Megacon almost every year for the past 4 years. It's known mainly for it's focus on comics - a ton of comic guests, big focus on them in the dealers' room, comic panels, etc. A decent variety of cosplayers turn out, however, from all fandoms - I would consider it a mini Dragon*Con, in that sense.

Up until this year's con last February, anime was a very small corner of the con's focus. One viewing room, a couple small panels, a sad AMV contest, and a costume contest. The dealers' room usually has a decent variety of anime/manga goods, however, I've noticed that it's one of the pricer cons due to the demographic who show up. As result, I have only ever gone one day and go in street clothes. However, as I said, this year's con had greatly improved the quality of what they had to offer for us anime/manga fans and cosplayers. There were actually quite a few panels spread out for all three days that I was actually disappointed I hadn't arranged to attend for the whole time. They had some pretty popular anime VAs in attendance, too, including Vic Mignogna. And *a lot* more cosplayers were out and about, too.