Go Back   Cosplay.com > US Convention Forums > Youmacon

Unread 10-26-2007, 05:25 PM   #1
jfreedan

Filming a documentary

Hello, I am a film student at Washtenaw Community College at Ann Arbor.

My crew and I are filming a Trekkies-style documentary about cosplaying at Youmacon. I'd love to interview some of you guys.

I'm particularly interested in talking to people who can give me some insight into how cosplaying got started. I'd love to talk to dealers, to costume commissioners, to people who have something they want to say about cosplaying.

I'd also like to ask if there is anyone in particular I should be looking for to interview?

You can post here or send me a private message.
jfreedan is offline   Reply With Quote

Unread 10-26-2007, 08:09 PM   #2
Soy Sauce
Event Director of SoyCon

Well I would say any cosplayer would be great to interview. I'm attending Youmacon and I will be under cosplay. I could give you some input on what the cosplaying experience is like.
Soy Sauce is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-26-2007, 08:50 PM   #3
No Refuge

Yeah I would love to help you in anyway possible. I will be a Youma for the entire weekend.
Unread 11-04-2007, 08:19 PM   #4
jfreedan

I just want to say something.

HOLY CRAP I HAD AN INCREDIBLY INSANELY AWESOME TIME AT THE CONVENTION AND GOT TO MEET LITERALLY HUNDREDS OF AWESOME PEOPLE!

My doc is going to be amazing.
I shot 20 hours of footage that is pure, solid gold.

This con was not like some nerdy sci-fi thing, like the Star Trek convention I attended as a kid.
This was a MASSIVE [Content removed]ING PARTY!

I feel like I was so ignorant about cosplaying before I went to a con. I'd say at least 95% of this community has some of the greatest people in the entire country. The amount of good feelings, the sheer amount of love that poured out from practically every person was overwhelming, and it's nigh impossible to not get caught up with it.